As promised: Dark Chocolate + Orange Cake Pops

by Jillian Douglas

Mmmm.

Mmmmhmm.

The combination of dark chocolate + orange interests my taste buds quite a lot. There’s just something so contrasting but balanced about pairing the nutty, rich flavor of chocolate with this light citrus fruit. As I hinted at in this post, cake pops are not my passion. But I do think if you’re going to bother with the fad, you might consider this recipe I concocted with the help of a few friends…

Dark Chocolate + Orange Cake Pops

Ingredients:

16 oz. Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Chips

1 Orange

1 Box of Cake Mix (with other ingredients it calls for, such as oil, water, or eggs, made as a cake, cooled)

1 Can of Chocolate Frosting

1-2 tsps of Orange Extract

Now I am in no way a cake pop guru, so if you know a better way to make them, by all means, go for it. But this is how I did it:

1. Crumble the cake into smithereens. Be aggressive. Be. Be. Agressive.

2. In a large bowl, heap the cake on the frosting and add a few teaspoons of orange extract (to be honest, this was such a long time ago, that I do not recall how many teaspoons I used. But I do know that I followed what was on the bottle, and it came out quite, quite delicious).

4. Mix, mix, mix.

5. Now would be a good time to experiment with chilling this mixture to make it a little firmer. I didn’t have the time, so I went ahead and rolled them up into balls.

6. Zest up some orange peel (we didn’t have a zester tool so my cutie just minced it up like a pro). Melt the chocolate in a pot on the stove.

7. Stick lollipop sticks into those cake batter babies and plop into the chocolate, spooning chocolate all around it for good coverage.

8. Dip the tip of your newly formed cake pop into the orange zest and place on a plate (or in a handy dandy cake pop holder or piece of foam) and refrigerate until stable.

Yum yum yum!

4 Responses to “As promised: Dark Chocolate + Orange Cake Pops”

  1. haha yes! and really, it’s quite a simple pairing, but lovely all the same.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

