Accomplishments and Aspirations

by Jillian Douglas

My dear readers,

I apologize profusely for my lack of attention towards this blog of ours! I really have no excuse.

In other news, I so thoroughly enjoyed Ashley’s New Year dreams that I thought I’d share a bit of my life, too. But I’d like to recap the awesomeness that was of last year instead.

In 2011, I…

  • Began my first real romantic relationship with the man of my dreams! I won’t go into the gory details, but on January 31, after waiting for what seemed like forever, he finally asked me to be his girlfriend. And then we went on a date to the ER. More on that another time, perhaps…
  • Was an all-out Elim Bible Institute student from August to May, where I met awesome kidlings from Canada, Mexico, Norway, and Guam (I love you foreigners!) and soaked up knowledge from my various godly teachers. It was a real growing time for me, since all I ever dreamed of was art school. But God wanted me there, and boy did He use it for good. I’m glad I spent that school year there. But I’m also glad that I don’t have room checks anymore. (ugh!)
  • Traveled to Queens for a three-week internship at NYSUM- New York School of Urban Ministry. Suddenly the knowledge that was lectured to me in class became real with the 8+ hours of serving we did every day. We met all sorts of people who I still think about: a traditional Jewish rabbi, a universalist on the Long Island Ferry, a Spirit-filled young man in the kitchen who always encouraged us. If you ever get the chance, I suggest interning with those folks down there. It will give you a whole new perspective on life. Not to mention, I loved soaking up as much of New York I could! It’s a dreamy place, I tell you.

  • Finally became a NY state licensed driver! I’m really awful with the stress of taking tests, something you can somewhat hide easily in high school but not so much in this. Needless to say, I am so, so, SO glad to have met the kind tester that granted me a little more independence this year. Thank you, God.
  • Spent a week relaxing in the Adirondacks with my parents and my brother on the beautiful Lake George! It was a restful time, and I wish I could just close my eyes and be there again. 

I don’t really know what this year will bring. I have a few resolutions, ones that I think I always dream of conquering, I think! I’d love to draw more. I know I can do it and I definitely want to, but there’s always something stopping me. I’d like to get over that this year. I’d like to set up discipline and diligence in my art. Does anyone have any ideas on how to do that? haha. I think I’ll be reading a lot of these kind of articles.

I also want to get closer to my brothers. Every time I watch Dan in Real Life, or Parenthood, or anything family-oriented, I instantly wish I knew my brothers better, who they want to be and what they really dream of. I want to help them reach those goals.

Thirdly, I want to hear God’s voice clearer. It’s so easy for me to get wrapped up in checking all 200 blog subscriptions, reading Harry Potter novels, and just living that I forget that God’s waiting for me to come to Him. He wants to release so much blessing on my life! So this year I’m making myself put more discipline in the things I care about.

I’m looking forward to my best friend’s wedding, a potential trip to NYC, another week in the beautiful Adirondacks, and jump-starting Elim Gospel Church‘s art ministry (which will be making its appearance at a Word and Intercession prayer event on Jan 20th from 7-9p and a 24-hour prayer event on Jan 27-28, 7p-7p! Come, come, come!), and so much more than I could ever plan.

Isn’t life fun?

What did you guys do over the last year? Anything spectacular? Anything so-so? Sometimes we accomplish so much without even knowing it.

Leave a Reply

