Wanderlust

by Jillian Douglas

Ever since I was a young little girl, I dreamed of traveling places. I was enthralled with the culture of India, even when I was just about six years old. I probably didn’t know much about more about India than what I had read in a storybook (perhaps it was A Little Princess), but still, it captivated me. And then I read Ludwig Bemelman’s Madeline, and France became my favorite, and will probably remain so for a great while.

Pinned Image

Through a series of mission trip opportunities with church and school, I’ve been to some pretty cool places, like Lima, Peru, Oaxaca, Mexico, and Valencia, Spain. They were each eye-opening, mind-tingling, wonderful journeys. My favorite part of traveling is learning about the culture; differences in people fascinate me. I dream of embarking on a Sketch Tour, collecting portraits of people I meet around the world and publishing them in a book. Or perhaps just my own sketchbook. Either way, it would be inspiring and full of fascination of life, wonder, and wanderings.

The photos above are just a few of many on Julian Bialowas’ Flickr. Julian’s simple designs and inspiring words unveil hidden moods in his impressive photographs. I can’t help but want to “favorite” every single one of his photographs.

Pinned Image

Here’s somewhere I’d love to go next. Apparently these whimsical woods located in Poland are a complete mystery… no one knows why their trunks are bent. I think it would make an amazing photoshoot. And I’d love to just spend hours reading a lovely book, nestled on one of these hooked trunks.

While I don’t think I’ll be traveling soon, I still daydream sometimes. I wonder who’s in Prague. I wonder what the Sistine Chapel really looks like, and if I would like it or not. I wonder if Tokyo is one big techno dance party, or what treasures are hidden there underneath the glitz and glam.

But at the same time, I feel an inexplicable peace with just staying where I am, in this little town in the middle of nowhere. Because there are adventures to be had everywhere- even just right where you are.

Pinned Image

Do you dream about traveling? Where do you plan on going in your lifetime? Where was the best place you’ve ever been? I’m dying to know..!

Leave a Reply

