Everything in Mugs is More Delicious

by Jillian Douglas

I really like mugs. It’s what I trust my beloved coffee with. They’re cozy and when I wrap my little hands around them, tucking my fingers in the nook of the handle, I can’t help but feel like I’m hugging my own little deliciousness-bearer.

So you can imagine that when I saw this on Pinterest, I had to try it. It’s coffee cake! In a mug! It’s beautiful and it’s yummy and it can be yours in less than 10 minutes!

So go get your yummeh on and grab your favorite mug and stuff it with these yummy ingredients, like so:

Lay one lovely tablespoon of butter in the bottom of the mug. Soften it a little in the microwave; just 10-15 seconds. Then stir in 2 tablespoons of sugar until it’s fluffy and resembles a light cloud in an April sky.

Now, in the original recipe at Prudent Baby, Jaime prefers to stir up an egg and pour in only half per mug. I tried it without the egg as she also suggests, and still loved it. So it’s up to you. Whatever floats your boat.

Next, stir in 2 tablespoons of sour cream and a few drops of vanilla (just a few!). Stir in 1/4 cup of flour and 1/8 teaspoon of baking powder.

For the crumbly topping which is absolutelynecessaryyouhavetotryit, in a different bowl, put together 1 tablespoon butter, 2 tablespoons flour, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Aaand smoosh it all together with your fingers until it’s nice and crumbly. Then add it to the other mixture of deliciousness.

Now it’s ready to be nuked. Microwave it for 1 minute, and add 1o seconds until you think it’s done. It’s not going to bake like cake-cake, since it’s in a microwave, but it should be a little crumbly.

Now dig in! hee hee

While we’re on the topic of mugs, check out this beauty from the Gent Supply Co:

Loooove!

5 Comments to “Everything in Mugs is More Delicious”

  1. I am obsessed with all those mug desserts! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. lovely! and i’m partial to the Luke’s mug. hehe.
    Does the recipe work just as well in something not quite as bowl-sized?

  3. Also, I tried it with a whole egg in it, and that made it kind of rubbery! So I think I prefer it without the egg, but I still have yet to try it with half an egg. Oh the nuances of baking… 🙂

Leave a Reply

